Our Lady of the Angels Parish
“On a hilltop overlooking Baltimore, Maryland, stands a chapel erected as a testament to the grace and glory of God. Built in 1913 as part of the new St. Charles Seminary in Catonsville, Our Lady of the Angels is a magnificent example of Italian Renaissance architecture. Adorned with intricate mosaics, Carrara marble, and breathtaking stained-glass windows, the chapel is a veritable trove of classic Christian artwork. Steeped in Maryland’s history, and rich in detail, Our Lady of the Angels is a true hidden treasure.”
—Fr. Leo Larrivee, PSS
Our Lady of the Angels, A Celebration in Color and Light
From its original founding in the nineteenth century to the present day, Our Lady of the Angels has served as both sanctuary and inspiration to the seminarians of St. Charles College, the thousands of residents of Charlestown Retirement Community, and the visitors who come to experience the beauty and serenity of the chapel firsthand.
Note: The original chapel of Our Lady of the Angels, completed in 1866, was located in Ellicott City, Maryland at the site of St. Charles College. The entire college including the chapel was lost to a devastating fire on March 16, 1911. The college and chapel were relocated to a farm in Catonsville, Maryland which had been previously purchased by the Sulpician Fathers as a summer retreat. The cornerstone of the new chapel was laid by Cardinal Gibbons on St. Charles Day, November 4, 1913.
Pastor: Rev. Leo Larrivee, PSS
711 Maiden Choice Lane
Catonsville, MD 21228